And we’re beginning to crack

So, it was a LONG day yesterday. What should have been a 5 hour drive, took us nearly 7 hours because of traffic in Louisiana and Houston (as in we have a problem).

NOLA was pretty awesome. We did shooters and some girl kept calling me “baby”– it was like I never left Mount Holyoke. We had dinner at a place called K-Joes (or something along those lines) and it was pretty good. I wanted to eat at NOLA, Emeril’s restaurant, but we couldn’t find it and this seemed like a good place to go. The hotel was pretty sweet too. They upgraded our room to a suite which meant that when I woke up (before Keith, obviously) I was able to go into the living room and watch BEAUTY AND THE BEAST!!!! I was pretty excited. I also got beignets from Cafe Beignet on Bourbon St. The whole area was pretty empty at 8:30 in the morning and it was pretty interesting to see the place without 100000 people in the streets. So lesson learned: quality inn and suites on O’Keefe Ave in NOLA = AWESOME.

We’re now in Houston. We did this Travelocity unpublished rate hotel booking thing and we totally won. We’re in a four star hotel (the interconinental Houston at the Galleria) — we got the room for $70 including tax. The only downside is that we had to pay for Internet (I think) and parking. The parking is in a garage which is well worth the money; considering my laptop and my grandmothers stand mixer are in the car. Also, the bed is amazing. The hotel gives you four different types of pillows: hypoallergenic, firm, soft, and something else. The sheets are like a baby’s bottom and the mattress is so comfortable that. Actually said, “I’m never getting up again.”

Check out is at noon, and I think we’ll head straight to Austin so I can start getting my shit together there. I hopefully will be able to pick up my Internet modem, so that we’ll have Internet as soon as I move in. I’m still trying to decide on TV- I sort of want it and i may go with AT&T U-Verse because their sports package includes the YES network and SNY. I know that it’s not a good idea, but I miss NY a lot and I want to keep a piece of it with me.

For those of you that are wondering, Eva is holding up just fine. My dad asked me about her this morning, BY NAME!!

Ps I got a shot glass in Louisiana with an alligator on it. Also, I got a picture of the worlds largest gummy bear!!!! Pictures to follow.

That’s all for now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

