Drinking before 8am? Don’t mind if I do.

I should probably clarify that I was not taking shots of tequila this morning. Instead, I was eating chocolate that a friend gave me from Europe (both are from Europe). Moving on, the packaging was in Russian and given my inability to speak or read said language, the only thing I knew was that what I was about to eat chocolate with caramel inside.

In any event, I opened the box of chocolate, took a bite and said out loud: I’m pretty sure there’s alcohol in the chocolate. I examined the box trying to find a %-sign that would indicate alcohol content… then I realized that the %-signs I saw probably were in reference to cacao percent of the chocolate and not the ABV. I don’t think Russians care too much about the alcoholic content of food given that they drink vodka like water.

So I was curious (and not at all drunk) about the chocolate and I asked my friend about it and was informed that it had vodka in it. How Russian is that? There was vodka in my chocolate. I think it was probably even more Russian of me to be eating it at 7 this morning — actually, it might have been 6:30.

Speaking of Russians… my oh my Vladimir Putin is taking everyone for a ride (I didn’t mean for that to rhyme). In the past few days, Putin has done some crazy stuff. The first of which was informing Mr. Snowden that he is allowed to stay in Russia provided that he stop publishing classified documents that could hurt US interests. Hey Mr. Putin! You do know that you run Russia right? You should be pushing Snowden to release (or just give you) as many of these documents as possible! Putin even acknowledged that his request of Snowden was weird! Realistically Putin is trying to squash the perception that the US and Russia are enemies while at the same time giving himself an image boost — it’s actually brilliant.

Also, two days ago Putin signed a bill into law that makes it illegal to teach kids about homosexuality. It’s sort of like abstinence only sex education — the kids are going to find out about the gays somehow and by not preparing them for it, they will all be pregnant  gay by the time they’re 16. It totally makes sense. It also violates a bunch of laws, so this law isn’t going to be around for too long.

If you have a chance you should go to this link: http://www.businessinsider.com/why-every-new-yorker-should-live-in-jersey-city-2013-7

My facebook wife posted this on Twitter and I chuckled at reasons #12, #13 and #14 (Mostly #14 but you need at least #12 to understand why #14 is funny).

 

Bottoms up.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

