This is what it looks like from 30,000 feet in the sky.

So as the title suggests, I’m on my way back to the west coast right now. I’m actually on my plane to LAX using the Wi-Fi because I pay for things like this to be able to update whenever and wherever I go. Also, it’s nice to be able to check email and chat with people on these long flights.

So this morning I said goodbye to my friend who I road tripped with to Alabama this past week. He was (and is) one of my closest friends at UC Davis and to say that I’m bummed about him going to Georgia Tech is an understatement. So today, I said goodbye (for now — he better come visit Sacramento because it’s way nicer than Atlanta) but I don’t know. He seemed pretty cold this morning. He’s got a lot on his plate right now, so it’s probably stress. It also probably didn’t help that I had a breakdown last night. On a scale from 1 to mentally stable, I’m probably at a 2.

Anyways, I came downstairs this morning and he was already awake scouring craigslist for apartment listings — no smiles or anything. So that interaction doesn’t scream cold, but trust me the whole thing: saying goodbye, saying good morning, etc. was pretty off. My friend from home says that its probably hard for him too which I totally understand but I don’t really want to understand. I don’t care if that makes me selfish or a bad person. I’m entitled to how I feel.

So my sad mood isn’t only because he’s gone. One of my other really good friends at UC Davis left for Italy about a month ago and although I still talk to him every day or so, it’s still really hard. All these really awesome people that I’ve met here at Davis keep leaving and I’m having a hard time coping with all of it. I don’t really know what else to say. I also don’t want to think about it too hard because chances are I’ll cry and I don’t really need the guy sitting next to me thinking I’m nuts.

So I’m on the plane. It’s kind of shaky. Woohoo turbulence! 

I guess my plans for when I return to Davis are to work on my papers for TRB, figure out what I’m doing this weekend, and talk to my advisor about our conference in POLAND. That’s right! This girl is going to Poland in November!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

